Museum Quilts

Today I attended a Quilters Teas and Turning at the Birmingham Historical Museum, ( http://www.bhamgov.org/museum )

The Museum is located at 556 W Maple, Birmingham MI

The event Kicked of with a banquet style tea, Followed by a Knock-Out Power Point Presentation by Beth Donaldson, Quilt historian from Michigan State University.  I was so pleased to finally get a chance to meet Beth! (we are both MSU people and quilters but met for the first time today)

Beth is on the left with the flowers.

After Beth’s presentation we got a look at some of the Museum’s quilt collection (click pictures to enlarge)

This one is all silk, 1″ english paper pieced hexagons  with a very pretty petal border. (each petal in the border is bound with a coordinating fabric.

This Carolina Lily was once green and red, the green has faded to tan over the last 120 years.  The quilting was beautiful.

This silk crazy quilt is unbacked and unbound, and looks as crisp as the day it was made.  We can guess the date pretty close by looking at the center block.

Perfect in attendance 1902-1903….someone was proud!

This beauty was done using a huge assortment of 1/2 square triangles set in the barn raising pattern.  The quilting is simple “in the ditch” quilting but the standout is the fabric….days could be spent looking at them all.

We were all invited to bring some of our own antique quilts for feedback.  Here are a few (sorry I can’t list the owners names…as usual I forgot to bring paper and pen!)

The event ended with a give away…one lucky person won this quilt, made by Museum Volunteers.

An afternoon learning about quilts, and talking about quilts, and meeting fellow quilters.  That’s hard to beat!

Happy Quilting

Tim

 

21 thoughts on “Museum Quilts

  1. karenfae says:

    wow what an assortment of quilts to see. I bet that was fun and a learning experience also.
    Karen

  2. audrey says:

    oh wow! what a great day for you. thanks for sharing pictures.

  3. kathie says:

    OH my gosh!!!!
    What an incredible day you had. I will be visiting this post many times to just savor these beautiful antique quilts, thanks so much for sharing them with us.
    Kathie

  4. What a great day that m use have been — and seeing all those glorious quilts! Talk about sensory overload!

  5. Ann Hancock says:

    I wouldn’t have been able to sleep at all that night! Total overload is right!
    You must have had SUCH a wonderful time.

  6. siobhan says:

    Love the whole idea of a tea and quilt study day. Wish our local museum’s current management was more quilt friendly…

  7. Carol Sc says:

    Wonderful quilts and wonderful pictures — I’m so glad you shared them with us. Beth does a similar program with small groups (sharing some of the MSU antique quilts) at the storage site — it is well worth the time to see them.

  8. Just found your blog. What a wonderful posting. Thank you for all the wonderful pics. What a great day for quilters!
    (I make miniature quilts out of antique fabric – visit my blog if you get a chance.)

  9. Janet O. says:

    Thanks for the visual feast–next best thing to being there!

  10. Tim, I just found your blog and loved it! Please check mine out: thecivilwarquilter.blogspot.com/

  11. Julie Fukuda says:

    This is a wonderful post. I grew up with old quilts on every bed, looking at the fabrics instead of napping, and fingering the stitches. I admire the precision of piecing and attention to detail in my Great Grandmother’s quilts and the idea that my Great Grand kids may see my quilts long after I am gone and know me through them sets the bar a little higher. In a world where “Old is out”, it is so wonderful to see these treasures.

Comments