Thousand Pyramids quilt top…finished!

I couldn’t stop working on it but now it is done!

Finished size is 72″ X 92″.  the size before I took it apart and re-made it was 81″ x 88″ with a few hunks hacked out, and not able to lay flat. (click pictures to enlarge)

after taking it all apart and trimming all the pieces to a uniform size and hand piecing it all back together with the antique fabric it looked a lot better.

I added 1/2 triangles of reproduction fabric on the edges.

Then a matching red as a border

I am very pleased with the end result.

I love all the fabrics…here are a few close-ups

this blue plaid looked familiar to me

it is the same fabric that was used as a border in another antique quilt I have been hand quilting on and off since 2010

I don’t know if you can see the quilting in the picture but I am quilting along the white lines so it is taking forever!

Now that the thousand pyramids top is done I can go back to finishing up that fan quilt.  The only thing that is stopping me from starting to quilt the pyramids is that I don’t have any batting in the house.  I have the perfect pice of fabric for the backing but untill I buy the batting I can’t start….so I will not go buy any (I must make myself believe that) untill I finish the fans!

Happy Quilting

Tim

23 thoughts on “Thousand Pyramids quilt top…finished!

  1. Angie says:

    Hi Tim – it seems like only yesterday you started “fixing” this quilt! Kudos for staying on target and finishing! The fabrics are amazing and your red border is the perfect finish. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Gerrie says:

    Beautiful! I can’t tell you how I have enjoyed your work on this quilt. I look forward to each new installment. But I also can’t wait to see the the next installment on the fan quilt. Such lovely work you do.

    • timquilts says:

      Thanks Gerrie…I can’t wit to do the next post on this one….the quilting will be fun…but I am anxois to get back to work on the fans….it wont be long to finish it up either

  3. Sara says:

    Great quilt! And on the line of the quilting on the blue lines, that is crazy…but wow!
    You know you can buy batting online so you don’t leave the house and then you’ll have it by the time you finish quilting the fan quilt…if you hurry and don’t do an overnight mail delivery! 🙂

  4. antarabesque says:

    (I must make myself believe that) haha!
    It turned out sooo well. Nice job, Tim, beautiful results.

  5. cmosey says:

    You sure do work fast! I’m sending you several boxes of fabric with directions so you can some work done for me. 🙂 The quilt looks great!

  6. Jeanette says:

    your speed is amazing. you must not do any house work ? But now-a new Joann coupon will buy you a nice batting.
    great job. Look at the improvement…! and I love the red half tri’s along the edge. A good idea….

  7. Carla says:

    Wow! It turned out great! I am still working on mine, and your already finished and you hand pieced yours. I must admit I haven’t been very diligent, only making a a few blocks every week.

    • timquilts says:

      I get a bit obsessive about some projects..this was one so it went fast….but I didn’t do much of anything else while I was working on this….so speed has its drawbacks

  8. quiltmaker1 says:

    Beautiful – you continue to inspire!
    Great border choice

  9. Great finish! You brought dignity back to an antique top deserving some special attention. Way to go!

  10. Rose Marie says:

    Wow ….. what a huge difference between the befor and after. You did a wonderful job and you have a lot of patience!

  11. Cathi says:

    I’m in awe of how quickly you’ve finished piecing this! It looks fabulous!

    • timquilts says:

      I have been working on it a lot because I have not been able to get out in the garden much this spring….so the top looks great but the weeds in that garden grew quilte a lot as well

  12. haleyarden says:

    You’re so quick! Love the pyramids too. 🙂

Comments